Andrew Goodman Puffin Democracy Fellowship, 2020-2021 Cohort

The Andrew Goodman Foundation’s mission is to make young voices and votes a powerful force in democracy by training the next generation of leaders, engaging young voters, and challenging restrictive voter suppression laws. The Foundation’s Andrew Goodman Puffin Democracy Fellows undertake high-impact projects on a local and regional level that address civic issues like voter suppression to advance political and social equity among young people in the United States.

The 2020-2021 Cohort of Andrew Goodman Puffin Democracy Fellows included Anna Del Castillo, Eva Quinones, Evan Malbrough, and Skylar Mitchell. The Fellows’ projects focused, respectively, on advocating for fair districting through the passage of the John Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act; urging nine states without Address Confidentiality Programs to adopt them to protect the sensitive information of survivors of domestic abuse from being made public or put online when they register to vote; recruiting and training new youth poll workers to fill the shortage and make our democracy more representative; and determining the correlation between social media usage among young people and their political participation. Projects may be explored further by visiting the following webpage and navigating to the 2020-2021 Cohort:

The Andrew Goodman Foundation is named after Andrew Goodman, a Freedom Summer volunteer and champion of equality and voting rights who was murdered, alongside James Earl Chaney and Michael Schwerner, by the KKK in 1964 while registering Black Americans to vote in Mississippi. To learn more, visit